• w-facebook
  • Twitter Clean
  • w-youtube
DSC04618 (2).JPG

Pierre Fontenelle, cello-soloist of the Opéra Royal de Wallonie-Liège, is a young Belgian-American musician with an atypical background. When he was 11, he decided to embark on the adventure on his own: with a rental cello and an Internet connection, he learned on his own and quickly realized that he liked to play with others.


At 13, his family left Seattle (USA) for the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg where he joined the Conservatory and joined the IMEP (Namur, Belgium) three years later, as a Young Talent with Éric Chardon. Assiduous of masterclasses, he participates in various European academies, such as the Pablo Casals Festival, working with Frans Helmerson, Jérôme Pernoo, Gary Hoffman, Marie Hallynck, the Danel Quartet… He is currently continuing his studies with Han Bin Yoon at the Conservatory of Mons, Arts².

His desire to participate in the profession of orchestral musician led him to join the Opéra Royal de Wallonie-Liège as cello-soloist in August 2019, thus becoming the youngest permanent musician of the orchestra. Previously, he had been a trainee with the Orchester Philharmonique de Luxembourg and had collaborated with the Orchester Philharmonique Royal de Liège (OPRL) and the Orchester de Chambre de Wallonie.

Appointed assistant of the cello class after having obtained a Master degree with the highest distinction at the IMEP, Pierre also holds the Concert Diploma of the Conservatoire de Luxembourg-ville, won unanimously and with the congratulations of the jury. He has already performed as a soloist with several ensembles (Musique Militaire Grand-Ducale, Musique Royale des Guides, Friedrich-Spee Chor, CIMI) and in many venues and festivals (Chapelle Reine Élisabeth, Belgium Cello Society, Festivals de Wallonie, Juillet Musical de Saint-Hubert, Musicorum Festival…). At the 2019 Edmond Baert International Cello Competition, he received the First Edmond Baert Prize and the Feldbusch Prize and, in October 2020, he received the 2nd “Van Hecke” Prize at the Belgium Cello Society International Competition. He is also a finalist in the 2020 edition of the Breughel Competition, postponed to March 2021. Pierre benefits from the Cécile Leleux Grant.

Also passionate about composition, popular and contemporary music, he created with accordionist Cristian Perciun the Duo Made in Belgium, which received the First Prize in chamber music at the Concours International Accordé'Opale (France) and produced regularly around the world. In summer 2019, they are touring China, performing on the island of Taiwan and Shanghai. In 2020, following the departure of Cristian, Luxembourg accordionist Frin Wolter joins the team - the Duo is renamed Duo Kiasma.

In December 2018, Pierre was invited to participate in the traditional Christmas Concert at the Royal Palace, in partnership with the Mint and the Queen Elisabeth Music Chapel.

In 2016, he joined the editorial team of Crescendo Magazine, a French-language online magazine devoted to classical music.

• w-facebook
  • Twitter Clean
  • w-youtube
DSC04618 (2).JPG

Pierre Fontenelle, violoncelle-soliste de l’Opéra Royal de Wallonie-Liège, est un jeune musicien belgo-américain au parcours atypique. À 11 ans, il décide seul de se lancer dans l’aventure : avec un violoncelle de location et une connexion Internet, il apprend en autodidacte et il réalise rapidement qu’il aime jouer avec les autres.


À 13 ans, sa famille quitte Seattle (USA) pour le Grand-Duché de Luxembourg où il intègre le Conservatoire et rejoint l’IMEP (Namur, Belgique) trois ans plus tard, comme Jeune talent auprès d'Éric Chardon. Assidu de masterclasses, il participe à diverses académies européennes, telles que le Festival Pablo Casals, travaillant avec Frans Helmerson, Jérôme Pernoo, Gary Hoffman, Marie Hallynck, le Quatuor Danel… Il poursuit actuellement ses études avec Han Bin Yoon au Conservatoire de Mons, Arts².

Son envie de participer au métier de musicien d’orchestre l’amène à intégrer l’Opéra Royal de Wallonie-Liège comme violoncelle-soliste en août 2019, devenant ainsi le plus jeune musicien permanent de l’orchestre. Auparavant, il avait été stagiaire de l’Orchestre Philharmonique de Luxembourg et avait collaboré avec l’Orchestre Philharmonique Royal de Liège (OPRL) et l’Orchestre de Chambre de Wallonie.

Nommé assistant de la classe de violoncelle après avoir été diplômé Master avec la plus grande distinction à l’IMEP, Pierre est également titulaire du Diplôme de Concert du Conservatoire de Luxembourg-ville, remporté à l’unanimité et avec les félicitations du jury. Il a déjà joué en soliste avec plusieurs ensembles (Musique Militaire Grand-Ducale, Musique Royale des Guides, Friedrich-Spee Chor, le CIMI) et dans de nombreuses salles et festivals (Chapelle Reine Élisabeth, Belgium Cello Society, Festivals de Wallonie, Juillet Musical de Saint-Hubert, Festival Musicorum…). Au Concours International de Violoncelle Edmond Baert 2019, il reçut le Premier Prix Edmond Baert et le Prix Feldbusch et, en octobre 2020, il reçoit le 2ème Prix « Van Hecke » au Belgium Cello Society International Competition. Il est également finaliste de l’édition 2020 du Concours Breughel, reportée en mars 2021. Pierre bénéficie de la Bourse Cécile Leleux.

Passionné aussi par la composition, les musiques populaires et contemporaines, il a créé avec l’accordéoniste Cristian Perciun le Duo Made in Belgium, qui a reçu le Premier Prix en musique de chambre au Concours International Accordé’Opale (France) et s’est produit régulièrement à travers le monde. En été 2019, ils effectuent une tournée en Chine, se produisant sur l’île de Taiwan et à Shanghaï. En 2020 suite au départ de Cristian, l’accordéoniste luxembourgeois Frin Wolter rejoint l’équipe – le Duo se renomme Duo Kiasma.

En décembre 2018, Pierre était invité à participer au traditionnel Concert de Noël au Palais Royal, en partenariat avec la Monnaie et la Chapelle Musicale Reine Elisabeth.

En 2016, il rejoint l’équipe rédactionnelle de Crescendo Magazine, revue francophone en ligne consacrée à la musique classique.